What our clients said>>>>

Testimonial for Poj on website

 

Poj is an experienced, professional tour guide, who makes every moment a fun-filled learning experience.  He understands what makes Thailand an interesting and vibrant place for tourists, so will take you to popular destinations and hidden gems that tourists could never find.  Since Poj has a background in history and religion, he can thoroughly explain the past and present culture of Thailand.  He introduced me to many fascinating hill tribe and village people and it was obvious that he knows and cares about them.  Poj is also an excellent photographer.  He’ll take great photos of you at the sights and knows how to frame the shots so you can learn how to take them, too.  I can’t thank him enough for his positive outlook and attention to detail.  I enjoyed my tours with Poj so much that he is leading a 2-week exploration of Thailand for my colleagues and me in summer 2017.  Don’t miss the chance to tour with Poj.  He will make it a life-changing experience.

 

Rosemarie Michaels, California, USA

—————————————————————————————————————————————

 

Michelle Price letter0002

Feb 9, 2016
Hello Chintana
It was indeed wonderful to see you. Our stay in Chiang Mai was great and most enjoyable. Mayuri made it rather special. She is an excellent guide. There is still plenty to see in and around Chiang Mai and it is quite likely we will visit it again. And if that happens, we will seek your assistance again.
We wish you the best in your business.
Kewal and Neeta Saluja

————————————————————————————————————————————————————-

From: ERIC DEMERS
Sent: 11 February, 2016 20:04
Subject: Re: Birding guide February 2016
Hello Chintana,
We are enjoying our time at the Nest. Today we saw a few more new birds, but it is not as easy without your help!
Thank you for confirming the identification of that raptor and letting us know. Yes, we will update the e-bird list with this species.
Thank you again for guiding us at Doi Inthanon. We will certainly recommend your services to others.
Best wishes,

Eric and Karen

—————————————————————————————————————————————————–

11 February, 2016 18:05

Dear Chintana

I was going to write to you too to say thank you for a wonderful trip. We so enjoyed all the beautiful sites and your company. You were such a good guide and a pleasure to be with – thank you from both Jonathan and myself. We very much hope to go again next year.
 
Many thanks.
 
Kind regards
Jacqueline Sarsfield

———————————————————————————————————————————————–

Hi Cintana,
Happy New Year!
We had a great time with Suphote.  It was a wonderful experience and the kids especially enjoyed the homestay and experiencing  village life. The hosts were wonderful and lovely as well.Please say “hi” to Pot from us and please email me the pictures he took.We have some friends planning to come to Thailand in the summer and I will give them your info.Thank you again,
Neli Roofian

Tour during Dec 29- Jan 1, 2015

testimonial Lynda Garabedien

28 November 2015
Hi Chintana, We had a wonderful trip each place we went.  The river cruise in Laos was great and we would recommend Pandaw River Cruises to anyone who was interested in an expedition type of river cruise.  The heat and humidity were higher in each place than I had expected but we all came home delighted with all that we had seen.  The river cruise was more physical than expected as we climbed steep river banks and an amazing amount of stairs – fortunately my knee did pretty well since I was on pain pills the whole trip.
Yesterday was Thanksgiving here and we had most of our family here for a turkey dinner (traditional) including Jennifer and George and Jon and Beth.
I wanted to thank you again for inviting all of us to your family home.  It really was one of the highlights of the trip for all of us and we felt privileged to see your home and meet your family.  If we ever plan another trip to Chiang Mai we will definitely let you know.  Jon and Beth were so impressed that I had booked such a great guide and we all had a great time with you.
November 2015
We have just returned from a trip to Asia during which we spent a week in Chiang Mai, Thailand and once again called on Chintana Suwawan from Windows of Thailand to be our guide.  This is the second time we have used Chintana because we were so impressed with her knowledge of the area, ideas for what we should see, and very pleasant personality when we toured with her two years ago.  I would recommend her to anyone  visiting Chiang Mai and the surrounding region – expect a wonderful trip.
Lynda Garabedian, USA
————————————————————————————————————————————

Tui testimonial

14 Feb 2016

Dear Chintana,

I will be leaving your beautiful country tomorrow morning and I just wanted to express my sincerest thanks for having arranged the tour for us and for giving us the privilege of getting to know Chiang Mai through your sister, Mayuree (Tui). 

She gifted us with a very enlightening and informative tour.  I especially appreciated the additional “bonuses” that Mayuree was able to glean from the villagers simply by talking to them.  The sincerity of her interactions was obvious and deeply felt. 

My daughter and I are more than pleased that we had booked the tour through your company.  After all, the Internet abounds with so many different tours.  Yours is truly different and lives up to its name “Window of Thailand.”  I will definitely recommend this to my friends and I certainly hope to come back again soon with my son, and sisters and family. 

I had opened a shared folder on Dropbox so that we can share the pictures we took with Mayuree.  Of course, we look forward to seeing the ones she took as well.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to learning more about Thailand the next time around.

All the best for the best,
Shelley

PS.  I was mistaken for a local at least twice during this trip.  Maybe it’s a hint that I should learn the language 😀  Who knows? :D=

——————————————————————————————————————————-

1/2/2015
Chintana,

We have returned to Singapore and I wanted to write and thank you again for a great day birding in Doi Inthanon. I know it was a long day for you and we appreciate your efforts to make sure we saw a wide range of species. Although I know most of them are common for you, they were very exciting for us! I will get in touch again when I return to Chiang Mai and perhaps we can visit some other parks, as you suggested, although I am sure there is also plenty more to see at Doi Inthanon. I attach the list of birds, in case it is of interest, and also a couple of pictures you might like. Perhaps you could let me know what the mystery bird is – we saw lots of them flying around the wats.

Rob Arnold

——————————————————————————————————————————-

25 January 2015
“The Best Choice in Chiang Mai”
5 of 5 starsReviewed January 25, 2015
While planning our itinerary in Chiang Mai, I had stressed about which property to choose for our stay. As someone who enjoys upscale properties, I had looked at the Four Seasons and the Dhari Devi but they both seemed to be so far out of town. Since I did not want to stay far outside of town, I chose the Le Meridien. I was so happy with my choice.

The Le Meridien is an upscale hotel with very comfortable rooms – great bed, separate shower and soaking tub, and excellent air conditioning. The hotel itself is beautiful and was the perfect choice for me…but the location is one of the property’s best benefits. When you stay at the Le Meridien, you are in the middle of the night market. You can literally step off the hotel grounds and be surrounded by a vibrant (and completely safe) night market. With the Le Meridien, you are in the middle of the action and would not be with some of the other upscale choices in the region.

After several days, we were looking for a fine dining restaurant in Chiang Mai. We found Favola, located inside of the hotel, and were very happy with our selection. Andy, at Favola, provided some of the best service we’ve received in years – professional, friendly, and great knowledge of the wine list. The food and service was so good that we dined here a second night during our stay in Chiang Mai.

As someone who prefers to have a private guide, I researched private guides within the Chiang Mai region. The most recommended guide was Chintana at Window of Thailand Tours. I contacted Chintana and was able to book FANTASTIC tours for two separate days. Chintana was excellent – perfect itinerary, local connections, highly educated, friendly, safe and reliable transportation, prompt, professional, and responded to all emails in a timely manner. If you’re even thinking about a private guide, I would definitely contact Chintana at Window of Thailand!

———————————————————————————————————————————
http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g293917-d1147512-r250983010-Le_Meridien_Chiang_Mai-Chiang_Mai.html#
“Superb Mossy forest, vistas and Birds”
4 of 5 starsReviewed November 18, 2014
On our last trip to Ching Mai we decided to pay a visit to the national park with our bird Guide, Chintana owner of Windows of Thailand. The vistas were beautiful. The bird plentiful and the mossy forest near the top of the hill is a definitive must see.

Visited August 2014
http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g293917-d455307-r240343354-Doi_Inthanon-Chiang_Mai.html

———————————————————————————————————————————–
Robert Jhonson
5/4/2013
Dear Chintana and Pote,

Just a quick email to say thank you for a wonderful holiday for our family in Thailand. Chintana, the places you booked us in to stay were just the type of experiences we had hoped for. Pote, you remain our all time favorite guide. We saw and did so much due to your efforts. I can not imagine being able to have such a true Thai experience without your help.

Dot and I have always hoped to expose our children to cultures different than they grew up with. Both of you made this an extraordinary success for us. When we return to Thailand, we will certainly ask for your assistance again. In the event that you might travel to the Washington, D.C. area in the future, you would always be welcome to stay with us in our home.

Bob

—————————————————————————————————————————

Charles Shewmake
Vice President and General Counsel at BNSF Railway
We have worked with Chintana and her husband/ business partner Suphote, on three separate occassions. She does a fantastic job. Her language skills are great and she is a funny, pesonable individual to spend a trip with. She will tailor a trip just the way you want it. For example, when we took our children, we toured Thailand a diferent way than when it was just my wife and I. We have used Chintana to add other countries on to our Thailand trips, and those trips worked wonderfully too. In short, she operates a great tour company and we are proud to be clients and friends of this wonderful family
July 9, 2009, Charles was Chintana’s client
———————————————————————————–
Kristana Kane
Group Manager – Campaigns, Programs & Trade Shows at EMC – Emerging Technologies Division

Windows of Thailand is a first-rate agency with 16 years of experience in designing unique, custom tours in Thailand. Owner Chintana Suwawan meticulously plans each excursion with great attention to detail and customer satisfaction. Not only is she unbelievably knowledgeable about Thai culture, politics, history, religion, but she is also prompt, attentive and shares her passion for her country in every tour she gives.

In addition to Chintana’s enormous guide skills, she also patronizes ethical operations and businesses with strong values of integrity and sustainability. Helping the local community, supporting operations that promote animal welfare and environmental preservation is important to her. As an ethical traveler, this is extremely important and invaluable to me.

I will recommend Chintana and her agency to any travelers I know who appreciate excellent value, years of expertise, a GREAT sense of humor and vast knowledge. Meeting Chintana was not only a great way to learn more about Thailand, but also it was a privilege to share a part of the country she loves so much.

January 20, 2009, Kristana was Chintana’s client
—————————————————–
————————————————————-
Shirley Reeves
Outside Sales at Focus on Travel
Chintana helped with my group visiting Thailand by providing excellent service, suggesting unusual activities, even a neighborhood picnic where we could meet local residents. She was willing to compromise with my ideas and make them work. I met her at an ASTA conference many years ago and I consider her my friend. Shirley Reeves CTC

August 28, 2013, Shirley was Chintana’s client

———————————————————————————————————————

Ann Neville
Senior Advisor, Biological Resources at Kennecott Utah Copper
I was lucky enough to find Chintana looking for a bird guide in Chaing Mai. I had been looking for tours but was dismayed by the mass marketing. Her small listing sounded like just what I wanted. She promptly answered my questions on line and was flexible with our schedule.
While I wanted to go birding, my friend and I also wanted to experience other great adventures Thailand had to offer. However, exploitation of wild animals and cultural (villages) made me uncomfortable. she was able to steer us in the ‘greenest’ direction. She was our personal guide who took us where they treated elephants well, a local market, a craftsman who made funeral pyre edifices – absolutely fascinating, and a great place to eat.
Birding was great with just the two of us. We went lots of places the other ‘tours’ did not, high elevations, flower farms, gardens, and parks. Through it all she was able to discuss different local cultures, ecology, politics and religions. Plus we saw a ton of great birds – all lifers for me.
I would highly recommend her and her company for anywhere in Thailand. Thanks Chintana!

January 19, 2010, Ann was Chintana’s client

—————————————————————————–

2012

Dear Chintana,
Please use the following below for the website testimonial. It may be a bit long, so feel free to remove some passages as necessary. I will also send our recommendation to the U.S. Embassy in Bangkok and the U.S. Consulate in Chiang Mai for their information. We had an amazing three day/two night tour of Northern Thailand. The tour really had everything – a stunning white temple (Wat Rong Khun), a hilltop homestay, and a truly golden triangle experience with brief jaunts into Laos and Burma and a visit to the Hall of Opium Museum. We can’t forget the stunning scenery of verdant mountains full of traditional villages and farms with green tea, pineapple, and coffee. Visiting a variety of hilltribe villages (Lahu, Karen, Yao, Akha) and meeting the locals was a highlight for us. Also impressive was touring the Doi Tung Project – we have never seen such a variety of orchids. An admirable project by the late Queen Mother to promote employment and sustainable tourism in the region. Our tour included a once in a lifetime two hour elephant ride up to a Lahu hilltribe village to spend the night, hiking to a waterfall, and two traditional long boat rides with one being on the Mekong river. Thank you Supot for the incredible experience (and delicious coconut ice cream). Supot’s knowledge of all things Thai, from politics to food and jungle survival really made our tour fantastic. Supot’s charm and enthusiasm for the area and its people facilitated some wonderful exchanges with the locals that would not otherwise have happened.
Aniesa and Eric Brassil Alexandria, Virginia

——————————————————————————————————-
2012
I am delighted to give this testimonial of the guiding services of Chintana Suwawan.
My son and I have employed her services to arrange itineraries and to act as our ornithological guide on two trips to Northern Thailand, in 2010 and 2012. Chintana’s knowledge of Thailand birds and the most select locations to see them is of the highest standard – averaging on our trips over 30 new species each day.
Although our main interest was the birds, she also gave us an unique insight into Thai traditions, its temples and tribes. Her communication skills are truly impressive, and her command of English is excellent, originating from her Catholic education in Chiang Mai.
Perhaps the aspect of Chintana’s guiding which we value most, however, and which contributes so much to the overall enjoyment of our time with her is that she is thoroughly good company, always courteous, humorous and good natured.
I cannot recommend her too highly.
J.Taylor – London
————————————————————————————————————–

2011
During a three-month stay in Thailand I had ample opportunities for birding, but by far the most productive was during three trips with Chintana: two one-day trips near Chiang Mai, and a three-day trip to Doi Ang Khang.
Chintana is a superb birding guide: knowledgeable, energetic, patient, intelligent, positive, inquisitive and comfortable. She is thoroughly acquainted with all of the birds, their calls, plumage variations, habitat, distribution and behavior. I learned to appreciate her excellent eyes and ears, often locating birds that I hadn’t suspected were near us.
Chintana is a teacher at heart, always making sure to point out the key points of identification, comparing a bird to others that might be similar, and repeating its name. We did a good deal of walking, and as we did, she continually called out the names of birds we were seeing, even if they had been seen well before. We never moved on until I had an opportunity to see the bird well. The pace was relaxed and thorough.
Transportation was by a very comfortable and roomy van, the driver of which was careful and efficient. He had great eyes, driving and birding at the same time, and often finding birds that we would have missed. It was clear they had worked together a good deal, making very efficient use of time.

My wife, Susan, who is not a birder, joined us on these trips and we both appreciated the thoughtful extras: drinks and snacks between hikes, taking time to make tea in the cold mornings, and sharing information of cultural and historical interest. During the day, she kept us well informed of the itinerary, and at the end of the day, she took time to review the day’s list, taking time to answer questions and clarify any confusion I may have had.
It was gratifying that Chintana is so enthusiastic about birds. She was thrilled when north of Chiang Dao on a small lake we found seven Mandarin Ducks, for which there are only a handful of in records in Thailand. And I was thrilled, too, with Grey-capped Woodpecker, Black Baza, Silver-breasted Broadbill, Eyebrowed Thrush, Velvet-fronted Nuthatch, Asian Emerald Cuckoo, Grey-headed Lapwing, Scaly Thrush, Slaty-backed Forktail, Scaly-breasted Munia, Blue-winged Minla, Grey-cheeked Fulvetta and Rufous-backed Sibia among the dozens of other birds Chintana located.

I had birded on my own a good deal in Thailand, but these trips are by far the most productive and enjoyable birding I have done there.
Gene Bauer
Northfield, Minnesota
———————————————————————————————-
2011
Dear Chintana,

I had such a wonderful visit to Northern Thailand and loved all the different trips we went on….whether it was the informal impromptu trip to the umbrella factory followed up by an equally informal yet educational trip to a paper factory next door, or the more structured 4 day Mae Hong Sorn Loop sightseeing trip! Your ability to share the cultures of Northern Thailand enriched my experience immensely.
I especially value all the experiences where we were often the only “frangs”. It is not often people want to take pictures of me surreptitiously or by request. You know you are “off the beaten track” when that happens.
Detours to experience the Mexican Sunflower hills or ride an elephant at the last minute request spoke volumes to your flexibility and desire to maximize my experience based on what was happening at the time or impulse request. I loved learning about the hilltribes, traditional foods, birding (my first experience) and general culture. Your genuine interest in people is recognized by the various hilltribes and encouraged one woman to share her home with us; inviting us inside, showing us around and answering the many questions you translated.
The “little things” that you did to make everything perfect were noted and deeply appreciated. Diet sodas in a cooler every morning for those of us who need that as our daily morning caffeine, well-spaced road stops for either a nature or culinary experience, flexibility in meeting last minute requests, ease of conversation, providing ice cold towels and water when needed, purchasing and donating books for the village children, as well as stopping at a pharmacy for a traditional remedy for car sickness which worked when western pills did no, are just a few of the special touches that come to mind. I felt like I was traveling with a friend.
Please feel free to use my comments on your website as I would love others to have the same wonderful experiences of Thailand that I did through the windows of your eyes.
Warmest Regards
Liza Zinola
————————————————————————————————–

2011
Above and beyond would be the best way to describe our experience with Windows Of Thailand tours. When we set up the itinerary we were expecting the typical sites, which we did get to see but our guide Suphote showed us SO MUCH MORE.
From the markets to the boat rides (and we had several) we learned something every inch of the way. His knowledge of his country was contagious and we learned to love the people and their traditions along with the sites.
Professional yet friendly, we enjoyed every minute of our time with him. While driving through a wooded area, we saw a man in a tree. When I inquired what they were doing, we instantly stopped the van and got out and met the farmer. Being the gracious hosts the Thai people are, we were given a tour up into the TOP of the tree, learned to use a machete and sucked fresh sap from the branches which was the means for the sugar he was farming. He wouldn’t let us leave without taking us to his home, meeting his wife and seeing the rest of the process for the brown sugar he was so proud of. We left with packages of sugar and flowers and were just thrilled with the experience.
This is the type of treatment you receive when you use Windows of Thailand. We went from tops of temples overlooking the whole city, to the bottom of the valleys, stayed in floating hotels ON the river, and tried foods of all kinds.
We breakfasted with Monks, rode elephants in the rivers, and played with tigers, all set up by our wonderful guides. It was the most amazing trip I have ever been on, and we have been around the world. Without our guide from Windows of Thailand we would have missed so much, but their knowledge and experience brought us the trip of a lifetime!
Jan & Kevin Nevielle
2010

———————————————————————————————————————
Jan 22-23,2010

Hi Chintana,

I’m so sorry about the trouble in Bangkok. I hope things will be resolved soon without any more people being hurt. I know this will not be good for your business, either.
Here are some heartfelt words which you should feel free to use on your website:
“My two days spent birding with Chintana and her driver included some of the most enjoyable time I’ve ever spent in the field. Her english is excellent and her knowledge of the local birds is extensive. We found nearly all of our target species between Chiang Dao and Doi Inthanon. The highlight of my trip was the lucky appearance of two Black-Tailed Crakes which brought tears to my eyes.”

I will look forward to chatting with on Skype sometime.

Sincerely,
Mark

707 W. Junior Terrace #4-South
Chicago, Illinois 60613
773 450-3086
euphidl@mac.com
http://www.markagnor.com
——————————————————————————–
Ann Neville
Senior Advisor, Biological Resources at Kennecott Utah Copper
I was lucky enough to find Chintana looking for a bird guide in Chaing Mai. I had been looking for tours but was dismayed by the mass marketing. Her small listing sounded like just what I wanted. She promptly answered my questions on line and was flexible with our schedule.
While I wanted to go birding, my friend and I also wanted to experience other great adventures Thailand had to offer. However, exploitation of wild animals and cultural (villages) made me uncomfortable. she was able to steer us in the ‘greenest’ direction. She was our personal guide who took us where they treated elephants well, a local market, a craftsman who made funeral pyre edifices – absolutely fascinating, and a great place to eat.
Birding was great with just the two of us. We went lots of places the other ‘tours’ did not, high elevations, flower farms, gardens, and parks. Through it all she was able to discuss different local cultures, ecology, politics and religions. Plus we saw a ton of great birds – all lifers for me.
I would highly recommend her and her company for anywhere in Thailand.

Thanks Chintana!

January 19, 2010, Ann was Chintana’s client
—————————————————————————————————–
2010

Chintana Suwawan,
Managing Director
Window of Thailand
Dear Chintana,

I wanted to thank you from the bottom of my heart for providing us with such a wonderful experience in Chaing Mai for my cousin, friend and myself (April 1 – 3, 2010). I feel that I will remember our experiences with you for the rest of my life. Those three days were so incredible I don’t even really know how to put my thoughts on paper. We asked you to put together an itinerary that was away from the typical tourist sights, and you could not have listened to our needs and planned a better trip for us. We were interested in learning about the hilltribe people and local handicrafts and that’s exactly what you planned for us. Our trip exceeded my expectations in every way. I truly feel sorry for people who visit Chaing Mai and don’t get go see it through your eyes. You took us to special places that we never would have seen on our own. I can’t remember the last time I cried tears of joy – and it happened three times during my time with you!

In addition to the planning of the itinerary, we were incredibly impressed with the “little things” that you did to make everything perfect. Stopping the van and grabbing us a local snack, pointing out what different foods/traditions were, translating for us, purchasing books for the village children, taking us through local markets at just the right pace, providing ice cold towels and water when we needed it, preparing a flower offering for the monks, etc. The list goes on and on!
Meeting the villagers and spending the night in their home was truly a unique experience and one I shall not forget anytime soon. Having dinner with the headman and his family is a memory I will always cherish. It’s not often a New York City girl says the words, “Is the toilet to the right of the water buffalo?” I’m still laughing about that! I’ve been working with handmade paper for about 15 years and getting to see where it comes from and visiting the incredible papermaking village was a one of a kind experience for me (as you saw from the tears!). I’ve purchased that type of paper many, many times and now I can say I know the lovely people whose life work is to make it for the world to enjoy. Having the opportunity to make some myself is another memory I will hold close to my heart.
Staying at the charming Three Sparrows House was a perfect ending to our journey in Chaing Mai. It is one of the most peaceful and quaint places I’ve ever stayed. The room was beautiful and comforting. The breakfast was thoughtful and delicious. The proprietress was a wonderful and beautiful woman inside and out . . . and good coffee too!! What more could a weary traveler want??
We felt safe and comfortable during our adventures and we never felt any type of language barrier. Your English is excellent. You took care of our every need while we were in your care (we were missing you tremendously in Bangkok!!). I felt like I was traveling with friends. I hope you felt the same! I look forward to the day I can come back to Thailand to revisit your beautiful country and the charming people who make it so special.
I would be more than happy to provide a personal reference for you. Feel free to exchange my email with any of your English speaking potential clients.

Thank you,
Jennifer Donsky
New York, NY
jenniferdonsky@gmail.com

2009

—————————————————————————————————————-

Chintana,

Here it is…..

Visit to Thailand by the Stoll Family

When my daughter suggested a trip to Thailand to relieve the Winter blues from Europe, we all thought along the same lines, “no way”! Well, her persistence and the expertise of Window of Thailand was what it took to make this the family’s favorite trip. My husband did most of the planning with Window of Thailand, and in the evenings he would tell us all about the places we would visit. A few emails back and forth with Chintana and it was all set. The day of the trip came at the same time some political issues were being raised! Well, Pot managed to keeps us away from the demonstrations and still enjoy the sights we wanted to visit in Bangkok. We were never aware of any disturbances!
His knowledge of the fruits and vegetables at the interminable markets, together with the history and Thai lessons (my kids liked them!), while we observed the young monks walking to and from were my favorite. While the kids liked the more adventure oriented parts like taking care of an elephant for the day and rappeling in the jungle. Also, the wonderful hotel recommendations in Chiang Mai during the new year’s celebration was perfect, water-gun fights for 3 days, yet our hotel was a quiet sanctuary, you would have never guessed there was a huge party going on outside. Pot and Chintana’s hospitality at their home to enjoy a traditional and delicious meal, was the icing on the cake. Their easy manner, knowledge and the perfect scheduling made this an incredible experience.
Hey Chintana, I don’t know what else to put in there, if you need any editing, let me know!
How are things in Chiang Mai? I wish we could come see you again, we are heading to San Francisco, California, USA this summer, maybe it’ll be easier from there to come see you again.
Hugs,
Paola
2009
——————————————————-
Rachel Sobel
Senior Director, Epidemiology – Global Innovative Pharma Team Lead at Pfizer
Window of Thailand arranged a fantastic, once-in-a-lifetime trip for my husband and me. They were extraordinarily flexible, professional, and designed a trip that was truly customized for our needs. We did both off-the-beaten-track plus can’t-miss tourist sites: everything from visiting an elephant preservation camp, personal guided tours of buddhist temples, kayaking to lunch, and impromptu stops at roadside stands for local food and interaction. I recommended them to a colleague who also had a phenomenal experience. Highly, highly recommended!

January 15, 2009, Rachel was Chintana’s client
———————————————————————————————————–
Dear Chintana,

We’d love to thank you for the wonderful days in Doi Inthanon and Chiang Dao. You were a great guide, not only a passionate birder but also one of the most allround guides we’ve met!
For those interested in our itinerary we’ll leave some short notes of our birding adventures, especially those with Chintana.
At the end of 2009 we spent three weeks in Thailand with a focus on bird watching and other wild life. We started our trip at Laem Pak Bia and Pak Thale (best observations: painted stork, Nordmannดs Greenshank, Malaysian Plover, Spoonbill Sandpiper) and continued south for Kaeng Krachan (Ratched Tailed Treepie, Great Barbet, Orange Breasted Trogon, several Hornbills (oriental pied, brown, great), Brown wood owl, White-browed Scimitar Babbler, Mountain Hawk Eagle, Ferruginous Partridge, Black Giant Squirrel, Asian Slow Loris, Giant Flying Squirrel, White-Handed Gibbon, Banded Langur, Yellow-throated Marten and Sambar Deer) and Khao Sam Roi Yot (Bronze-winged Jacana, Pheasant Tailed Jacana, White-breasted Waterhen, Purple Swamphen, Eastern Marsh Harrier). After a short stay in Bangkok we went on to visit Khao Yao (Asian Emerald Cuckoo, Great Eared Nightjar, Long-tailed Broadbill, Asian Elefant, Binturong) and Bung Boraphet near Nakhon Sawan(Cotton Pygmy Goose, Darter, Ruddy-breasted Crake and White-browed Crake).
By now we’d seen 236 species of birds and 20 different kinds of mammals.
Our lasts days we would spent in northern Thailand, discovering the national parks Doi Inthanon and Chiang Dao. Chintana would be our guide during three of the five days we’d spent here.
On Sunday December 6th we arrived late at night at our lodge ‘Inthanon Highland resort’ near Doi Inthanon National Park. We enjoyed a delicious meal naerby the beautiful pond around which the lodges are situated. The next day we planned to discover the lower parts of the mountain ourselves. Early in the morning we walked from the lodge to the park entrance and hitchhiked for 10-15 minutes. We went for a walk along a small stream near km 13. Although a beautiful place, it was a bit quiet and we did not see many new species, besides a Yellow-bellied Warbler and several beautiful insects and a butterfly we’ve still have to try to determine. For lunch we went to Mr. Daengs near the park headquarters. A nice place with good food and a beautiful garden, a well-known place to see the Dark-sided Trush. After lunch we hitchhiked down the mountain again and headed for the Vatcharitan Waterfalls. After a steep walk down (which could have been avoided) we discovered the Plumbeous Water Redstart and Slaty-backed Forktail. Great birds! On our way back to the lodge some Crested Treeswifts were flying high above our heads.
Tuesday the 8th Chintana joined us early in the morning together with driver Pau. It was still very dark when we started to climb up the mountain. A Grey Nightjar flew away. Today our aim were the higher parts of Doi Inthanon. We stopped half way along the road towards the summit near the second checkpoint. Chintana knew this would be a great spot to see new species of birds and she was right! Several trees were flowering , a perfect place to spent a few hours. We saw amongst others Black-headed Sibia, Rufous-backed Sibia, Mountain Bulbul, Black Bulbul, Short-billed Minivet, Chestnut-flanked White-eye, Grey-cheeked Fulvetta, Wedge-tailed Green Pigeon, Orange-bellied Leafbird, Yellow-bellied Fantail, White-headed Bulbul, Yellow-cheeked tit and Golden-throated Barbet. It was time now to head for the top of the highest mountain in Thailand. We had to hurry a bit to avoid walking between large crowds of tourists that visit the summit each day. The scenery was beautiful. Chintana, obviously not only very knowledgeable about birds but much more, explained to us some parts of the history of this area. Meanwhile spotting Green-tailed Sunbird, Rufous-winged Fulvetta, Chestnut-tailed Minla, Ashy-throated Warbler and Chestnut-crowned Laughing-thrush. We also went for a walk through the very impressive summit marsh where we heard the sound of the Pygmy Wren-Babbler and discovered the Snowy-browed Flycatcher between the lower bushes.
After a great lunch with bbq-chicken (during the following days Chintana would make us familiar with the northern Thai food) we drove a bit down the mountain for a walk along an old jeep track near the second checkpoint. One of the most amazing things we’ve seen during this walk were several flocks of birds. All of a sudden you were surrounded with so many different birds that you did not know where to put your binoculars at. And as suddenly as they came they disappeared. Quite a challenge to determine those little ones. But with the help of Chintana we managed it! New species we saw were White-throated Fantail, Slaty-bellied Tesia, Grey-throated Babbler, Golden Babbler and Brown-throated Treecreeper. It was getting dark and time to head ‘home’ again, a great day of birding! During dinner we had a long and inspiring talk with Chintana about Thai history, society and culture.
Before heading for Chiang Dao N.P. we spent Wednesday morning again at Doi Inthanon. After a beautiful sunrise we walked along the jeep track near km 35. Again flocks of birds passed, amongst them Striated Bulbu,l Silver- eared Mesia, Blue-winged Minla and Spectacled Barwing. We also saw a glimpse of the Black-throated Parrotbill. Walking up and down the jeep track we furthermore discovered Chestnut-fronted Shrike-Babbler, Scaly Thrush, Grey-backed Shrike, Brown-cheeked Fulvetta, Chestnut-vented Nuthatch and Velvet-fronted Nuthatch. Besides this, the views from the water station were terrific. A great morning!
One bird especially was though still missing on our list, the White-capped Water Redstart. Chintana knew just the place where to look for it, along a stream in the Royal gardens! What an impressive bird, we’re really happy we could add it to our list.
Before we left Doi Inthanon we had lunch at the royal agricultural project near the gardens. If we did not have fallen in love with Thai food already, we would have now. It was really delicious and we’ll remember it for a long long time!
On our way to Chiang Dao we made an extra stop at the Mae Hia Agricultural Project which turned out to be very fruitful. We spotted the rare Yellow-legged Green Pigeon besides Burmese Shrike, Pied Bushchat, Plain Prinia and White Wagtail. After dark we arrived at Malee’s Nature Lover Bungalows in Chiang Dao, a perfect and hospitable place with a great kitchen. We would discover the beautiful views the next day.
Thursday the 10th was the day we would head with Chintana to the summit of Doi Chiang Dao. Because this is a long drive we had to leave in the middle of the night, but it was all worth it! It did not take long before we spotted the Chestnut-bellied Rock Thrush, Grey-capped Pygmy Woodpecker and the Giant Nuthatch and Maroon Oriole! Fantastic! We also spotted this day amongst others the Grey Bushchat, Pacific Swift, Blue-throated Barbet, Stripe-breasted Woodpecker, Indochinese Cuckoo-shrike, White-bellied Redstart, Japanese White-eye, Speckled Piculet, Mrs. Gould’s Sunbird, Little Pied Flycatcher and a Northern Goshawk! On the branches of a tree just along the road we saw a collared owlet! At the end of the day a last drive through the paddies near the town of Chiang Dao was good for Grey-headed Lapwing. Again a day to remember!
During our last day of birding we visited the monastery at What Tham Pha Phlong close to Malee’s. Great scenery! It was a bit hard though to find the right trails in the dense bushes. Probably we did not walk on the best ones, but it was a great day anyway and we did find White-rumped Munia, Grey-headed Parrotbill, Crested Goshawk, Streaked Wren-Babbler and a Rufous-fronted Babbler. Satisfied we walked back to our little cabin and had last great meal at Malees’. She even gave us some seeds for the Holy Basil we liked so much and we can try to grow it ourselves at home this spring!
The next day, Saturday the 11th, we returned to Bangkok, enjoying our last views of the beautiful Thai landscapes. We even spotted a water buffalo (domestic) from our bus window! The city was still celebrating the Kings’ birthday and we enjoyed the festivities and fireworks. A great ending of a great trip we’ll remember for a long time! In the end we’ve seen 305 of birds and 20 different mammals.
Chintana, once again thank you for the great birding days together. You could really notice birding is one of the things you love to do. Also many thanks for the other lessons you ‘teached’ us on the road or during meals (when we were not distracted by all the birds and other animals 😉 )concerning history, culture and much more. Also a great thanks to Pau, not only a great driver, but also very thoughtful, helpful and fun!

We wish you all the best,
Hanneke and Ties
The Netherlands.

————————————————————————–

“Windows of Thailand is a first-rate agency with 16 years of experience in designing unique, custom tours in Thailand. Owner Chintana Suwawan meticulously plans each excursion with great attention to detail and customer satisfaction. Not only is she unbelievably knowledgeable about Thai culture, politics, history, religion, but she is also prompt, attentive and shares her passion for her country in every tour she gives. In addition to Chintana’s enormous guide skills, she also patronizes ethical operations and businesses with strong values of integrity and sustainability. Helping the local community, supporting operations that promote animal welfare and environmental preservation is important to her. As an ethical traveler, this is extremely important and invaluable to me. I will recommend Chintana and her agency to any travelers I know who appreciate excellent value, years of expertise, a GREAT sense of humor and vast knowledge. Meeting Chintana was not only a great way to learn more about Thailand, but also it was a privilege to share a part of the country she loves so much.” January 20, 2009
Top qualities: Great Results, Expert, High Integrity

Kristana Kane Blake
hired Chintana as a Travel Agent in 2009
http://www.linkedin.com/myprofile?trk=hb_tab_pro

———————————————————————————————————————-
2008

“I was lucky enough to find Chintana looking for a bird guide in Chaing Mai. I had been looking for tours but was dismayed by the mass marketing. Her small listing sounded like just what I wanted. She promptly answered my questions on line and was flexible with our schedule. While I wanted to go birding, my friend and I also wanted to experience other great adventures Thailand had to offer. However, exploitation of wild animals and cultural (villages) made me uncomfortable. she was able to steer us in the ‘greenest’ direction. She was our personal guide who took us where they treated elephants well, a local market, a craftsman who made funeral pyre edifaces – absolutely facinating, and a great place to eat. Birding was great with just the two of us. We went lots of places the other ‘tours’ did not, high elevations, flower farms, gardens, and parks. Through it all she was able to discuss different local cultures, ecology, politics and religions. Plus we saw a ton of great birds – all lifers for me. I would highly recommend her and her company for any where in Thailand. Thanks Chintina!”

January 19, 2010
Top qualities: Personable , Good Value , Creative

Ann Neville
hired Chintana as a personal bird guide in 2008

——————————————————————————————————————————–
2007/01/27
Name : Alex Rush
E-mail : info@expershare.com
Message # 100 :
5 Zephyr Court, Suite 3 San Rafael, CA 94903
January 7, 2007

Window of Thailand
127/2 Rakang Rd., T.Chang Klan, A. Muang ChiangMai 50100, THAILAND

Attn: Chintana Suwawan, Managing Director
Dear Chintana:

I would like to thank you once again for arranging a fantastic trip for my family to Thailand. We absolutely enjoyed every aspect of it, and the service from your staff was superb. The personal attention provided to us by Window of Thailand was most appreciated, and we felt very well taken care of from the moment we met our guide on arrival at Suvarnabhumi airport.

I appreciated your prompt and thorough responses to all of my many emails in planning the trip, and all of your suggestions for the itinerary were great and exceeded my expectations. Our guide, Ms. Jay Kanchana, was wonderful. She was knowledgeable of all of the sights we visited, she was very gracious and respectful of us, and had a great sense of humor and rapport with our teenage daughters. Also, she did a fantastic job with food? We had consistently great restaurants in addition to lots of snacks and cold drinks in the car. We had two drivers (Khun Shat in Bangkok, and Khun Pao in Chiang Mai), who were both provided courteous and safe driving and utmost service. They were always awaiting for us with fresh towels and cold drinks at every stop, and were always happy to make an unplanned stop or wait for us as we often wanted to linger at the temples and archaeological sites.
Finally, I would like to thank Mayuree for hosting us for dinner in Chiang Mai on Dec. 30. Your sister was a delightful host, and we enjoyed meeting her that night. I?m sorry we were not able to meet you during this trip, but hopefully next time.
In short, it was really a trip of a lifetime. It was an incredible experience for all of us, and particularly for my two daughters. We certainly plan to come again soon, hopefully in the next couple years. I have already recommended Window of Thailand to friends here who are contemplating travel to Thailand, and will continue to do so.

Thank you once again.

Sawadee, and best regards,
Alex Rush & family
Alex, Suzanne, Rachel and Nina

———————————————————————————————————————————-
2006/10/07
Name : Vera Stecher
E-mail :
Message # 11 :
Dear Chintana,
My tours of Chiangrai and Chiangmai were quite simply perfection !! Kanchana was a wonderful professional guide and quickly adapted to my
needs to see as much as possible and have new experiences and try new foods including fried bamboo worms (yummy). I looked forward to our travels everyday, as we not only visited many sites but also had a good time while travelling. Kanchana is a first class guide and person.

Likewise our driver was excellent, and I felt totally comfortable and confident with him at the wheel ! He was highly professional, always flexible
and very courteous. A real pro !

Finally, I enjoyed sharing dinner with your very charming sister, Mayuree. You should move her out of the “back office” and into the front office !

Among my most prized possessions is the fantastic pair of chopsticks that you sent via Mayuree as a gift for me. Special thanks to you. I will take them with me on my trip to China in October. I will do a 1 week tour of Yunnan province and then go to a meeting in Shanghai.
I also have a painting done by an elephant named Bougainvillea at Chiang Dao, and I have it in my office on 42nd St in NYC.
In regard to your request of how to improve your service, I can only suggest that you not change anything ! The organization, everything ‘on time’ yet flexible to my requests, trying new foods, excellent guide and driver, I would not attempt to change what is perfect.
It would be a pleasure for me to serve as a recommendation for your “Windows of Thailand” tours anytime you need me to do so.

Your hotel choices were excellent, from the Imperial Golden Triangle looking out over the Mekhong River to the luxury Yaang Come Village. The staff at these hotels were warm, caring and welcoming in making me feel very comfortable.

I especially enjoyed the thrill of riding in a long-tail boat on the Mekhong over to Laos as well as the day trip into Myanmar at Mae Sai. Visiting the diverse Hill Tribes as well as opportunities to appreciate all the good deeds of The Queen Mother were all special.
I am still wearing my white string “bracelet” put on my left wrist by a monk at Wat Phra That Doi Suthep who first soaked Kanchana and I with some kind of water and recited a long prayer over us while we were on our knees. Jay can tell you about that, but I remain very blessed !
Chintana, I am most grateful to you for planning a perfect “Window of Thailand” tour for me which was exquisite in every way: guide, driver, hotel, overall pace and plan of sites to see and things to do —- all simply wonderful! I will always have positive memories of this special tour.

With personal best wishes,

Vera Stecher
Senior Medical Director
Pfizer 235 E. 42nd St. 4/1 New York, NY 10017

—————————————————————————————————————————————

2006/09/11
Name : Julianne
E-mail :
Message # 10 :

I heard about Window of Thailand through an acquaintance, who had a friend, who knew Chintana. While I trusted the reference, I really did not know what would transpire when I contacted Window of Thailand. Chintana responded so promptly to my inquiry and maintained excellent communication throughout the trip planning. She really listened to our (my husband and myself) interests and together we planned an incredible trip! Her expertise and knowledge was invaluable.
When we met Chintana in Bangkok, we liked her instantly. All of our plans were extremely well organized, and so we were able to just sit back and enjoy the beautiful sights in Thailand. In the span of eight days we traveled by van from Bangkok to Chiang Mai and visited many temples, ruins, ate delicious food, hiked, saw animals and gorgeous scenery. Chintana was knowledgeable, informative, helpful, and really went out of her way to help us experience and learn about Thailand. We were able to have experiences that we never would have had on our own or with a large group. We had two excellent drivers that provided superior service and that were a delight to spend time with. Outside of Chiang Mai, Chintana’s husband, Suphote, joined us for a hike and we were equally impressed with him. We were also very pleased to meet her children and sisters. At the end of our trip, when we said goodbye, it was like saying goodbye to a close friend, not just a tour guide. Chintana and Window of Thailand really made our trip extraordinary.

I would highly recommend Window of Thailand to anyone who will be traveling to Thailand.
Name : Julianne

——————————————————————————————————————————————–

2006/09/06
Name : Shirley Reeves CTC
E-mail : shirleyreeves@comcast.net
Message # 9 :

I first met Chintana at the ASTA World Congress meeting in Hong Kong. At that time I was looking for a tour operator who would take on a smaller group. She said she would be happy to, so I gave her a copy of my proposed itinerary. She came back to me with a quote and our relationship began. I knew nothing of “Window of Thailand” but decided to take a chance. Sometimes intuition pays off!
Partly because the bird flu became an issue and partly because of lack of interest in and ignorance of one of the most beautiful areas of the world, I had difficulty in making my quota. Chintana took it in stride, repriced and we went forward with our plan, but at a later date.

My next meeting with her was at the ASTA Congress in Montreal. At that time I asked if there was anything like a “people to people” program in Thailand where visitors would go for dinner and conversation in a private home. She replied,”I think my mother would do that” When we arrived in Chiang Mai, she did have us to dinner at her mother’s–along with her husband, children, neighbors and other family members. What an evening!
What I’m getting at is that she is willing to try the untried. Her attention to detail is outstanding and knowledge of her product unsurpassed. When visiting the handicraft factories, it was she who did the demonstrations. Her choice of restaurants was excellent and varied. Between Suphote and Chintana (and her family) the tour was an unqualified success. I owe her a great debt of gratitude. She made me look good!

————————————————————————————————————————————
2006/08/28
Name : Fran Smith
E-mail : frankysmitty@gmail.com
Message # 8 :

I recently visited Thailand for the first time. I loved it. Thailand is a very special place, and touring it with Suppote made it even more enjoyable. He is top notch in every way. He is professional, courteous, pleasant to be around and extremely knowledgeable. He had very interesting information to share about many things. Suppote (Window of Thailand) was a great company to work with. When booking travel with them, one could be confident that things will be handled in a first class way. We were always very comfortable and well taken care of. The travel vans were nice and clean, the drivers were safe and reliable, and the restaurants and food were delicious.
Our itinerary was well planned and easy to follow.
I highly reccommend visiting Thailand and would ONLY consider doing it with Window of Thailand. They are a quality company…

Chiang Rai, the northern most province in Thailand, is well known for its crisp mountain scenery and unique hilltribes. Sharing borders with Myanmar to the north and west and Laos to the east, Chiang Rai hosts the Golden Triangle, which offers awe-inspiring views at the convergence of the borders of all three countries. With stunning accommodation, Chiang Rai is a good centre for exploring the far north. The town itself has several impressive temples, while easy excursions can be made to a number of fascinating sights. On the banks of the river Mekong is the charming little town of Chiang Saen, where ancient ruins indicate an importance long before Chiang Rai was founded. Especially worth visiting is Doi Tung, a mountain where Her Royal Highness, The Princess Mother, has instigated hill tribe and agricultural development projects, and maintains a hill-top palace. Other “must-sees” include Wat Phra Kaeo, Doi Mae Salong and The Hall of Opium.

———————————————————————————————————————————–
2006/08/26
Name : Irene D. P.
E-mail :
Message # 7 :

I was referred to Window of Thailand by friends who assured me that I would have a wonderful experience with these very experienced guides. They were right, and our holiday more than lived up to our expectations. It was obvious that our guides had really listened carefully to our interests and the pace at which we liked to travel. There was great attention to every little detail, and we found our guides to be so personable and so knowledgeable that we came away from Thailand with a much deeper understanding of the culture, history, customs than we could have thought possible, We saw some absolutely wonderful sights, and in addition to all that, we had tremendous fun, a lot of laughter, and some of the best memories imagineable. I can’t recommend Window of Thailand highly enough,

——————————————————————————————————————————–
2006/08/26
Name : Liesel
E-mail :
Message # 6 :

Having previously visited the southern beaches of Thailand, my mother and I decided to explore the lush scenery of Chiang Mai for our second trip to our new favorite country. Luckily, we were referred to Suphote and Chintana, who created a customized itinerary that included shopping, hiking, and of course, those elephant rides! Suphote accompanied us through all of our adventures, answering questions, explaining traditions…but also anticipating when we just needed a moment to take it all in. We were thrilled with the luxurious and personalized details (like diet Coke in the van!). By the end of the trip, we felt more like we had made a good friend than simply hired a tour guide. A marvelous experience!

————————————————————————————————————————–
2006/08/20
It’s one thing to match your upscale clients with the right luxury resort, it’s another when your clients leave the cozy shelter of their hotel and set out on their own ? especially on the streets of a city like Bangkok, which can be overwhelming to new visitors. A great way to assist clients in all aspects of their trip is to hire a first-class guiding service.
Window of Thailand, a member of ASTA, is run by general manager Suphote Hankitiwatana and is based in Chiang Mai. They guide clients throughout Thailand and other parts of Southeast Asia, helping with trip planning and itineraries as well. Specialties include soft adventure, cultural experiences, golf, trekking, diving and more.
Hankitiwatana often heads up tours himself (as does his wife), and is an ideal guide for upscale clients. He’s gracious, knowledgeable and speaks excellent English. He can bring a local perspective to a trip and share insights clients will never forget.
Remember: Any travel agent can book airfare and a hotel, but an agent that can make a trip more unique with the help of a local guide has a secret weapon that is sure to impress customers and bring repeat business.

66-53-275815
www.windowofthailand.com
by Kenneth Shapiro
Suphote:
Hello there. I was on a press trip with you earlier this year through the Tourism Authority of Thailand. I just wanted to let you know that the story I wrote about Thailand is about to come out in the magazine and is currently on our Website. Just click on the link below:
http://www.travelagewest.com/articles.aspx?article=5460
————————————————————————————-
“Window of Thailand arranged a fantastic, once-in-a-lifetime trip for my husband and me. They were extraordinarily flexible, professional, and designed a trip that was truly customized for our needs. We did both off-the-beaten-track plus can’t-miss tourist sites: everything from visiting an elephant preservation camp, personal guided tours of buddhist temples, kayaking to lunch, and impromptu stops at roadside stands for local food and interaction. I recommended them to a colleague who also had a phenomenal experience. Highly, highly recommended!” January 15, 2009
Top qualities: Great Results , Personable , High Integrity

Rachel Sobel
hired Chintana as a Travel Agent in 2005
http://www.linkedin.com/myprofile?trk=hb_tab_pro